Las Vegas may be the most entertaining city in the world, and it may be the only place where you can have Elvis Presley as your wedding officiator, but there are still certain regulations that you have to keep in mind, in order to have safe fun. Driving under the influence or acting as an irresponsible driver is definitely not something you’d want to do. If you are a driver or passenger, you should familiarize yourself with the state’s car insurance rules. In this article we will provide you with explanations for the type of coverage that vehicle owners are required to carry, as well as some regulations that you should be aware of.
Nevada’s Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Like most states in America, Nevada also has a minimum insurance that provides with decent coverages for any vehicle. It is probably the state with the lowest required rates, and they are as follow:
- $15,000 for injuries to one person in an accident
- $30,000 per accident where more than one person is hurt, and
- $10,000 per accident for property damage.
The easiest way to get insured is by buying insurance from a licensed to sell insurance company in the state, and ask for proof that you can show to the state’s Department of Motor vehicles. This will enable you to register your vehicle. Beware, that failing to show proof of insurance will lead to driver’s license suspension, and a fee of 250$ when the suspension is lifted. This is why you should always beware of the auto rules and regulations in place.
Nevada’s “Fault” Insurance System
There are to types of states: fault and no-fault. Nevada is a “Fault” insurance system, which means that the driver (one person) that causes a car accident will be financially responsible for all injuries, vehicle damages and losses. The Nevada Fault system is one of the most important auto rules and regulations in the area. This means that there are not very many restrictions as far as compensation is concerned from the at-fault driver. Options may include filling a claim under one’s own insurance, with the other driver’s car insurance company or simply filling a personal injury lawsuit seeking compensation from the responsible driver.
Safety Requirements in Las Vegas
As we said, Las Vegas can be very fun, seeing as it is the Live Entertainment Capital in the world, but drivers should also be prudent, no matter the circumstances. Here are a few laws that you absolutely need to respect to keep your license:
- Handheld Law: whatever you do, when in Nevada, you are not allowed to talk on a handheld cellular phone, or you will receive a fine of up to 250$
- Helmet Law: All motorcycle riders and passengers must wear helmets when riding on the highway. The only occasion when they are not required to wear helmets is when they are part of an authorized parade.
- Seatbelt Law: Any passenger or driver has to wear a seatbelt at all times. This includes everyone who has at least six years and weighs 60 pounds. Passengers under the age of 12 can sit in the back with a seatbelt on.
- Impaired Driving Laws: Drivers under the age of 21 that are driving under the influence (blood in alcohol content equal to .02 percent or higher), will be charged. Adults, over the age of 21, will be charged if they have more than 0.08 alcohol content. The fine for this will be between 400 and 1000$, depending on severity.
These auto rules and regulations are there to help people, and avoid accidents. It is not hard to respect them, so make sure you stay safe above all else.