In most situations there is no need to visit a DMV office for insurance issues. The internet or telephone will be more then enough. In addition to this, updating policy data with the DMV will result in changes of coverage or companies. Minimum coverage for Nevada is 15/30/10 and your company must have your vehicle registered . If your insurance is not written for Nevada, and you drop the liability insurance, you will have to cancel registration and surrender the license plates. Only insured vehicles are allowed on public streets, so make sure that your agent or company has properly licensed you with the Nevada Division of Insurance.
Nevada’s DMV Live Program
This program is meant to keep uninsured vehicles off the road at all time. Its main objective is to validate the insurance of cars registered in Nevada every day and provide people with accurate policy information. In the past, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles, in compliance with Nevada Revised Statuses, required motorists vehicle liability insurance to be updated by physically handing in the information needed. This could be done under the form of tapes and disks. Nowadays, insurance agents can update information on their official website. Once the information is up to date, and in compliance with the DMV system, you can join public roads safely.
What to do if You Get a Notice or a Ticket
On rare occassions, the DMV will not be able to verity your liability insurance coverage, and you might wake up with a ticket, or possible citation by law enforcement. The following steps will help you resolve the situation quickly:
- Verification Request: Naturally, you should not ignore the notice. Most of the times, a timely response will prevent a possible registration suspension or law enforcement citation. This can be done online, or by returning the postcard if the vehicle was sold, or you moved from the state. Laws and regulations require you to respond in maximum 15 days of the mailing date. Once the DMV confirms that you have had continuous coverage, the process ends. If it cannot verify the information, you must issue a Certified Letter.
- No Grace Period: As you may already know, Nevada doesn’t have a no grace period. This means that a one-day lapse will result in registration suspension. You can check your insurance status on the Registration Status Inquiry.
- Certified Letters, Registration Suspension and Reinstatement: In the eventuality that the DMV has not confirmed your coverage at all you will receive a Certified Letter, through which you will notify you that your vehicle registration will be suspended (taking effect 10 days after the date of mailing). To have the registration reinstated you must visit a DMV kiosk or specialists. The Certified Letter contains an access code and instructions, and you will require SR-22 insurance.
- There are usually two types of citations when it comes to insurance. You are either cited for a suspended registration and must be reinstated with new license plates, or you will be convicted and subjected to driver license suspensions which means your driver license will have to carry SR-22 insurance coverage from now on.
Every situation is different, and you will probably receive directions from DMV specialists or your insurance agent. Remember that ignoring the problem will not make it go away, so try to respond to citations in a timely manner.