Hopefully, you will never have to find out what happens if you miss as little as one day of having car coverage in Las Vegas. Before Senate Bill 323 was passed in the 2011 Legislative Session, vehicle owners who went a mere day without car insurance risked getting a letter in the mail from the Nevada DMV, informing them they had to pay a $250 fee for reinstatement. The situation regarding fines for lapses in Las Vegas Car Insurance was bad enough already. According to the new bill, though, it looks like it’s gotten even worse. Read on to learn how.
The new Senate Bill on fines for lapses in Las Vegas car insurance
From a certain point of view, Senate Bill 323, which legislators voted upon and brought into force during their 2011 session, nuances the situation of fines for lapses in Las Vegas car insurance. That is to say, it establishes a difference between going uninsured for a single day and several weeks – or even months. The singular $250 fee has been replaced with a tiered system of reinstatement fees and fines, which differentiates between repeat offenders. In a nutshell, you’re charged a higher fine for every 30 days you go without insurance and stand to pay an even higher amount if you’re a completely uninsured motorist in the state of Nevada. The federal Department of Moving Vehicles lists the complete, broken down list of fees and fines, which you can check out at their website.
How to avoid fines for lapses in car insurance in Nevada
The only foul-proof way to avoid the fines set out in Senate Bill 323 is by taking out car insurance and making sure you have the adequate level of coverage. According to state laws, car insurance minimums in Nevada are $15,000 per single incident per person, $30,000 total per incident, and $10,000 for property damage per incident. These car insurance minimums are not negligible amounts, in terms of premiums, but local insurers say they are still more affordable than the fines. Some industry experts claim they’ve seen fines for lapses in Las Vegas car insurance that exceed $1,000.
Are there any exceptions the Nevada DMV allows for such fines?
Unlike other fines that have to do with insurance and lapses in coverage, in the case of car insurance, financial hardship doesn’t qualify as an extenuating circumstance for the lapse. All admitted circumstances should be attested to through documentation and the car owner in question needs to prove the situation was beyond his or her control. Proof stands in the form of affidavits, original receipts, and/or other documents. While simply experiencing financial difficulties doesn’t spare you the fine, illness, a death in the family, and hospitalization will do. Applying for exemptions from these fines is done via the DMV or a Nevada County Assessor, which also oversees vehicle registrations. Another way to make sure you don’t find yourself faced with such a fine is to take out car coverage from an insurer that will give you a heads up before your policy runs out.